An Gaisce

Image result for an gaisce

Throughout the year i was involved with An Gaisce the presidents award. Myself and  other classmates took part in the bronze award. This involved 13 weeks of community involvement, 13 weeks of physical Recreation and 13 weeks of a personal skill. But for one of these activity’s  you had to do a further 13 weeks. Also at the end of the year there was an adventure journey. For us it was a 25km walk through the Bluestack Mountains.

Image result for football coaching

Community involvement: For my community involvement i helped out my local soccer club by training their under8s, 10s, 14s and under16 squads. In this time i enjoyed every minute and gained experience in coaching.

Image result for kung fu kick

Physical Recreation: For my physical recreation i used my martial arts class for the award. I train in choy li fut, a style of kung fu with a mix of jujitsu. With An Gaisce i have improved as i have committed more time to my training.

Image result for koda acoustic guitarImage result for sunburst electric guitar

Personal Skill : For my personal skill i wanted to pick up something new so i decided to go for acoustic guitar lessons. Music was something i always enjoyed, so transition year and An Gaisce was the perfect time for me to start. I have improved at the acoustic guitar and just recently i bought myself an electric Guitar.

Adventure Journey For our Adventure journey we stayed overnight at the bluestack centre in Donegal to complete a 25km walk through the Bluestack Mountains. On the evening we went to the bluestack centre. Our Gaisce group completed a 10km walk. The next day we met up with the rest of our year to complete a further 15km through the Bluestacks. This was a tiring but fun activity to do. I am glad I did An Gaisce as I have achieved things I  never thought I would do.

IMG_1095

Leave a Reply

